In this article, we'll cover the following questions:

  1. What are automated emails?

  2. How do we use them?

  3. What emails are sent out when?

1. What are automated emails?

Automated emails are emails sent out automatically to a specific group of users or all users. They are triggered by their own actions, actions by others or events happening on your platform.

2. How do we use them?

Automated emails on your platform are used for 2 objectives:

  • Informing your users about what's happening on the platform when they're not there.

  • Making sure they find their way back to the platform at the right time.

They are never used as marketing tool, but simply to ensure a proper functioning of your platform.

We continuously monitor our existing automated emails. Are the emails engaging enough? Do people unsubscribe? Based on that information, we take action:

  • we change the email content, 

  • we group similar emails in 1 email, 

  • we tweak the conditions for an email to be sent out

Some automated emails can be disabled for all users. These are the emails you'll find in 'Emails >> Automated' with an active toggle. Why can't you disable the others? Because experience has shown us that these are crucial for a proper basic functioning of your platform. More info on updating the settings of your automatic e-mails can be found here.


Do you want to send other emails as well? Perfect! That's what the custom emails in 'Emails >> Custom' are for. More info can be found here.

Each user can also individually choose which emails to receive and which not. This can be done in 2 ways:

  1. Unsubscribing directly from within each email

  2. Deactivating each email on his or her profile page on the platform 

3. What emails are sent out and when? 

Below, you'll find a dummy example of every email listed in 'Emails >> Automated'.

Email

Who?

When?

When an idea is published in a project I can moderate

Only for admins and project managers of the project the idea has been posted in

Every time someone posts an idea

When a new comment was written in a project I can moderate

Only for admins and project managers of the project the comment has been posted in

Every time someone adds a comment to an idea

When the status of an idea the user voted for has been changed

All non-admin users

When you changed the status of an idea they voted for

When the status of an idea the user commented on has been changed

All non-admin users

When you changed the status of an idea they commented on

When a new comment has been placed on an idea the user voted for

All non-admin users

When someone commented on an idea they voted for

When a new comment has been placed on an idea the user commented on

All non-admin users

When someone else commented on an idea they commented on before

When a user gets invited to the platform

All non-admin users

When you've sent them an invitation from the platform

A weekly overview of the activity on the platform (for citizens)

All users

Every week when ideas have been added to the platform

A weekly overview of the activity on the platform (only for project managers)

Only for project managers

Every week

A weekly overview of the activity on the platform (only for administrators)

Only for admins

Every week

When my idea gets published

All users

After publishing their second, third, fourth, ... idea

When a user’s first idea gets published

All users

After publishing their first idea on the platform

When a user requests a password reset

All users

After indicating they forgot their user password

When a user registers on the platform

All users

After completing their registration on the platform

When a user accepts my invitation

Only for admins

After a user accepted the invitation you've sent out from the platform.

When a user is given project moderation rights

All users

After receiving project moderation rights for a specific project on the platform.

When a user is given admin rights

All users

After receiving admin rights to enable them to manage the whole platform.

When an admin deletes my comment

All users

After you deleted their comment.

When a user is mentioned in a comment

All users

After someone tagged them with '@name' in a comment.

When the status of my idea changes

All non-admin users

When you changed the status of an idea of which they are the author

When a user marks an idea as spam (for administrators and project managers)

Only admins and project managers of the respective project

After a user marked a specific idea as spam

When a user marks a comment as spam (for administrators and project managers)

Only admins and project managers of the respective project

After a user marked a specific comment as spam

When a user receives a reply on their idea

All users

After someone else commented on the idea they are the author of

When a user receives a reply on their comment

All users

After someone else replied to a comment they are the author of

Did this answer your question?