For each project (phase) on your platform, you can define different access rights for different types of participants. This article explains you how you can choose the settings for both viewing and participation rights.

You can define two types of permissions, or access rights:

  1. Viewing rights (on a project level): who can see this project on the platform?

  2. Participation rights (on a project, or project phase level): who can contribute to the project (phase)? Which actions can be taken by which participants?


1. Viewing rights

For each project you can decide who can access it on the platform and view its content. Three types of permissions are possible.

A project can be seen by :

  • Everyone: anyone who visits the platform will be able to see the project and browse its content. If you choose this option, the content of the project is therefore also accessible to non-registered visitors to the platform (although they will need to log in to participate).

  • Administrators and project managers: only people with admin rights to the project will be able to view the project on the platform. This option is regularly used to allow admins to test and view the project before it is launched to participants.

  • Certain user groups: only participants belonging to certain user groups will be able to see the project on the platform. As access to the project is restricted, participants will first have to log in to the platform to be able to view the project. As a platform admin, you can create user groups by going to the "Users" tab in your platform admin panel. For more information on the creation of user groups, please read this support article.

The default option is "Everyone", so if you don't make any changes, everyone who visits your platform will be able to view the project.

To set up viewing rights, go to the "Access rights" tab of the project settings in the admin panel of the platform and select the desired option in the "Who can see this project?" section.

2. Participation rights

For each phase of a project, and for each type of action (posting input, commenting, voting,...) you can decide who can participate depending on the participation method chosen for that phase. Four types of permissions are possible.

Participation (certain types of actions) in a phase of a project can be open to:

  • Registered users: all participants registered on the platform and having viewing rights for this project will be able to participate.

  • Administrators and project managers: only those with admin rights for this project will be able to participate.

  • Certain user groups: only registered participants on the platform who belong to certain user groups and who have viewing rights for this project will be able to participate.

  • Everyone (only available with surveys) : in the context of surveys, it is possible to open participation to visitors who are not registered or logged in on the platform. In this case, any person visiting the platform can take part in the survey.

The default option is "Registered users", so if you don't make any changes, all registered users will be able to take that action.

People who are not included in your selection will see a message informing them that they don't have the rights to take that action.

To set up participation rights go to the "Access rights" tab of the project settings in the admin side of the platform and select the desired option in the "Who can contribute (per project phase)?" section.


Do you have any questions or need help? Do not hesitate to contact us at support@citizenlab.co !

Did this answer your question?