The 'Users' section in your platform's admin panel is your starting point to manage, export, block and delete user data. Only platform administrators have access to this section, project or folder managers don't.
You can manage your participants by creating groups in the left grey column, by clicking on the '+'-icon.
Manual groups: manually add participants to the group.
Smart groups: define membership conditions and when participants meet them, they'll be automatically added to this group.
Once you have user groups set up, you can find the aggregated data of their members in your dashboard by filtering on group:
Granting admin rights
The 'Users' section is also the place where you can grant people full admin rights to your platform. You do so by searching for that person and clicking the three dots at the right next to each user in the 'options' column.
All platform admins and project moderators are automatically put in the group called 'Admins & managers'. You can find this group right below all 'Registered users'.
Export user data
You can either export the data of all participants (in one group), or manually select those whose data you want to export.
The export file contains all the registration data of each (selected) participant. The columns 'id' (A) and 'email' (B) allow you to easily combine the registration data with your other platform exports in Excel:
Posts and comments: through 'author_email' in column E and F respectively;
Poll (if not anonymous): through User ID in column A;
Typeform survey: through hidden fields (to be added before launching your survey!)
Deleting a user is not always the best option, as this would allow the user to recreate an account with the same email address and delete their data. When you block a user, their account won't be accessible for a given amount of time, and their email will be blocked if they try to create a new account.
To block a user, click on the 3 dots right next to a user and click on 'Block user'.
In the pop-up screen you can fill in a reason for the ban. The user will be notified and the reason will be included in the message they receive.
By default the ban is set for 90 days. If you want to extend this ban for all users, reach out to your GS manager or the support team so we can change this for you.
If a user is still logged in, the next action should destroy the user's session.
When a user attempts to log in, they will be notified that their account is temporarily disabled.
In some exceptional cases you would want to delete specific participants:
Test accounts, created by you or a colleague to test the platform;
Fake accounts, with obvious fake email addresses linked to them (see our e-mail confirmation feature);
Participants with repeated inappropriate behavior (cf. your terms and conditions).
To delete a participant, you can click the three dots below 'options' and select 'Delete this user'.
Deleted participants won't receive a notification of this action. If you want to give them notice, please send them a personal e-mail.
You're now all set to work with the participant data on your platform!
Need help or support? Don’t hesitate to get in touch via firstname.lastname@example.org.