The 'Users' section in your platform's admin panel is your starting point to manage, export, and delete user data. Only platform administrators have access to this section, not project or folder managers.

Manage

You can manage your participants by creating groups in the left grey column, by clicking on the '+'-icon.

  • Manual groups: manually add participants to the group.

  • Smart groups: define membership conditions and when participants meet them, they'll be automatically added to this group.

The 'Users' section is also the place where you can grant people full admin rights to your platform. You do so by searching for that person and clicking the toggle in the 'admin' column.

Once you have user groups set up, you can find the aggregated data of their members in your dashboard by filtering on group:

  • Their platform actions and behavior can be found in the 'Summary' tab

  • Their registration data (e.g. age) can be found in the 'Users' tab.

Export

You can either export the data of all participants (in one group), or manually select those whose data you want to export.

The export file contains all the registration data of each (selected) participant. The columns 'id' (A) and 'email' (B) allow you to easily combine the registration data with your other platform exports in Excel:

  • Posts and comments: through 'author_email' in column E and F respectively;

  • Poll (if not anonymous): through User ID in column A;

  • Typeform survey: through hidden fields (to be added before launching your survey!)

Delete

In some exceptional cases you would want to delete specific participants:

  • Test accounts, created by you or a colleague to test the platform;

  • Fake accounts, with obvious fake email addresses linked to them (see our e-mail confirmation feature);

  • Participants with repeated inappropriate behavior (cf. your terms and conditions).

To delete a participant, you can click the three dots below 'options' and select 'Delete this user'.

Deleted participants won't receive a notification of this action. If you want to give them notice, please send them a personal e-mail.

You're now all set to work with the participant data on your platform!


Need help or support? Don’t hesitate to get in touch via support@citizenlab.co.

Did this answer your question?